Time flies, but does it really?

Fourth week of classes already? If you ask me, it feels like we should be starting the eighth week. Last semester, everything flew by. I had all lecture classes with more than 200 students in the room and we never had homework because professors weren’t going to grade that many papers. I went to my classes, then slept my days away and I studied when I needed to. This semester, however, is completely different. Dr. Martin’s class is especially different. We always have to keep checking bolt and checking the syllabus because we always have something to do. Is that a bad thing? Yes and No. Every student dislikes having a ton of homework to do, the kids like to have free time. Although, having all of this work to do is helping me stay on top of everything, not only for Foundations of Writing, but for every other class I have also.

With having a lot of stuff to do, it seems like more time is going by, but it’s not. There is this one quote that I think of whenever I think about time. “Imagine there is a bank account that credits your account each morning with $86,400. It carries over no balance from day to day.
Every evening the bank deletes whatever part of the balance you failed to use during the day. What would you do? Draw out every cent, of course?
Each of us has such a bank. It’s name is TIME.
Every morning, it credits you with 86,400 seconds.” (http://boardofwisdom.com/togo/Quotes/ShowQuote?msgid=24722#.UvhfjfldXZ0) People should think of this when using time as an excuse to not get things done. We all have the same bank account of time. How somebody chooses to use their time, is entirely up to that person.

While just being four weeks into the semester, I realize that time is not a friend of mine. Some people take their time and spend hours writing assignments and doing their work carefully. I think that is great for students who can do that, and I wish their grade reflects on the amount of time they put into it. But I’ve learned that I’m not one of those students. We’ve had three writing assignments so far in Foundations of Writing, and I have not spent time on them. Although that makes me sounds like a student who is lazy and uncaring, that’s not the case. I realized I can’t focus when I’m taking my time on something. I’m writing this blog at 10 the night before it is due, same as my other assignments. I focus a lot better when I write spontaneously and not think too much about it. Every person has their own unique way of writing, and as we continue Foundations of Writing, we will all realize the way we are most comfortable with writing.

There was no certain prompt for this blog, and I know that our blogs have to have something to do with what we are doing in class. Time has to do with everything. I hope students read this blog and realize they have more time than they think they do. Whether you spontaneously write, or take your time to write, I think everyone should take how they write seriously.

Rikki Merwine

One thought on “Time flies, but does it really?

  1. Rikki,

    I think you have raised some important points as well as revealed some interesting things both about your attitudes towards school as well as a sort of a business understanding about what you are doing. More interestingly, there seems to be some contradictions in what you say, what you think, and ultimately, what you do. What will result from these contradictions is a crisis at some point.

    You noted that first semester did not require much of you or that it was easy to just get by . . . how well did that strategy work? Did you get a 4.0? If you did then it was a good strategy, if you got less than a 3.0, I would argue it was a poor strategy and it resulted in both wasted money and wasted time. I think the issue of focus is something we will probably talk about during your conference this week. I think the writing center might be in your future and might help you with some of the issues you raise.

    Thanks again for your post.

    Dr. Martin

Leave a Reply

