“That’s just like ‘Her'”

While reading the article in week seven of our course content, I figured this would be a good article to post a blog about. If any of you have seen the movie ‘Her’ that released in theaters December, 2013, then you would know what this post is going to be about. ‘Her’ is a movie that is about a man who falls in love with his computer. I chose not to watch this movie. “Really”, I thought, “a movie like this has got to be weird and awkward”. I have an Iphone, as many other people do, and I could never fall in love with Siri, whether she has her normal voice, or Channing Tatum’s voice.  How many people have ever gotten angry with Siri? I know I have. I have many screenshots on my phone where I cursed at Siri because of the things she said that made no sense. Siri doesn’t always know everything, like Apple suggests.

This article showed a conversation Laura Sydell shared between her and Siri. Laura Sydell kept telling her Iphone to play a song she asked for. Siri couldn’t understand what she was asking, and Siri started searching the web. This frustrated Laura Sydell, just as it would frustrate me. These computers aren’t programmed to fall in love, they’re not programmed to act like normal human beings. These computers are made strictly to do as they are told, and sometimes, they don’t even understand what they are told.

So I thought, how could the guy in ‘Her’ fall in love with his computer? “Helen Fisher, a biological anthropologist at Rutgers University, says there’s absolutely no reason someone couldn’t fall in love with a computer’s voice, even if it wasn’t attached to Scarlett Johansson” (Sydell). Scarlett Johansson was the voice that played the computer in the movie. I mean, how could you not fall in love with that? But in reality, who could love their computer? If, and only if, our computers were programmed to love us, to care about our feelings, and to help us with our personal problems, then maybe it would be possible to love them. But that’s not what Siri does now. 

Will our computers be programmed to do that? “Clayton says there are many, many small incremental steps we still have to take. For example, there was a lot that Samantha knew quickly about Theodore” (Sydell). Now this is a different outlook on the situation. If Siri was able to go through my messages, and my social networks, and other apps, then it would be easy for her to actually know the type of person I am. The article claims that Samantha (‘Her’) could access anything in the phone, and be able to talk about his personal life with him. If my Siri did that, I would be attached to her, since she would know what to say to me to make me feel better, but I still don’t know about love. 

The bottom line of my blog post is, will there be a future where our computers are programmed to behave and sound like human beings? Will relationships with our computers be a ‘thing’? I really do not believe it should be such a thing. I think we, as humans, need the physical attraction to someone. Maybe I’m wrong, but we all have our opinions. 

 

Thanks For Reading

Rikki Merwine 

                                                                                 Works Cited

Sydell, Laura. “That’s Just Like ‘Her'” NPR. NPR, 10 Feb. 2014. Web. 09 Mar. 2014.

 

One thought on ““That’s just like ‘Her'”

Leave a Reply

